Lifted Up

Hello world, it’s little me. I’m little because not only am I small in stature, but one of my favorite images of the Christian life is coming to Jesus like a little child. The “little way” of St. Therese of Lisieux resonates with me, too.

I always wanted to become a saint…Instead of being discouraged, I told myself that God would not make me wish for something impossible…I will look for some means of going to heaven by a little way which is very short and very straight. It is your arms, Jesus, which are the elevator to carry me to heaven. So there is no need for me to grow up. In fact, just the opposite: I must become less and less.img_3952

I’m here to share some of the things that rattle around in my head and I think would be great to share with others. When I write in the margins of books with multiple exclamation marks, when I give an “amen” or an emphatic head-nodding “um hmm” or when I pause a lecture or the daily mass readings to follow a tangent with my kids in the car, or when I start to write a talk in an old spiral notebook, I think maybe this blog might be a better place to get my thoughts out. Usually my thoughts are about discipleship, being loved by God, being inspired by the Holy Spirit and being redeemed by Jesus. I try to live a virtuous life and teach my kids, but as the adage goes, so go I; “those who can’t, teach.”

My life-verse comes from Matthew 6:33, “Seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides;” as I try to trust God more and more, I notice more and more ways that I find God and his kingdom in the details of my day. I’m also forced to contend with the ways I’m not seeking his kingdom and righteousness. To be honest, I’m a little afraid that y’all will find out I’m no little saint but a big hypocritical fraud and say nasty things about me, my feelings will be hurt and I’ll just pout and go back to writing in that recycled science notebook. But here I am anyway, shoving off on this little journey up and up, lifted higher to the cheek of Jesus where I can just be buried in his healing embrace.

 

Leave a Reply

